Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How easy is it to make a stand alone game using Darkplaces?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How easy is it to make a stand alone game using Darkplaces?

I have been thinking about it for a while, and I may want to use it in the future. I have these questions:

Would I have to change the source code?

How would I keep Quake clients from connecting?

Clean QC 1.01 by gnounc and goldenboy is GPL and full legal via id Software (I am not a lawyer).

[If you use that, your mod has to be open source, I'm sure as a Linux user your fine with that].

http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-hel...qc-gnounc.html
    Quakeone.com - Being exactly one-half good and one-half evil has advantages. When a portal opens to the antimatter universe, my opposite is just me with a goatee.

So while you guys all have to fight your anti-matter counterparts, me and my evil twin will be drinking a beer laughing at you guys ...

Comment

Originally posted by Baker View Post
      Clean QC 1.01 by gnounc and goldenboy is GPL and full legal via id Software (I am not a lawyer).

[If you use that, your mod has to be open source, I'm sure as a Linux user your fine with that].

http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-hel...qc-gnounc.html
      I'm not referring to that.

You make too many assumptions baker.

Anyway, I am referring to using the darkplaces source code, not quakec 1.01. I am talking about using darkplaces as a game engine, not a quake engine.

Comment

Originally posted by SpecialBomb View Post
        I have been thinking about it for a while, and I may want to use it in the future. I have these questions:

Would I have to change the source code?