getting quake 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• getting quake 1

hi im new here and im kind of new to quake, although not new to iD software, as you can probably tell by my username lol. Ive played some quake live and its fun but i want to play quake 1 because it is what started the series.

I'm having trouble getting the game though, because i can't find any good downloads and im hesitant to torrent the game because i dont' want my school tracking it because they got an honor code system and if im caught stealing I could get kicked out. I also heard a lot of people here still play the game online by connecting to servers via the in game console, I'd love to get in on that as well, but I'd need a version that would be compatible.

Thanks

Originally posted by thedoomguy View Post
    hi im new here and im kind of new to quake, although not new to iD software, as you can probably tell by my username lol. Ive played some quake live and its fun but i want to play quake 1 because it is what started the series.

I'm having trouble getting the game though, because i can't find any good downloads and im hesitant to torrent the game because i dont' want my school tracking it because they got an honor code system and if im caught stealing I could get kicked out. I also heard a lot of people here still play the game online by connecting to servers via the in game console, I'd love to get in on that as well, but I'd need a version that would be compatible.

Thanks
    legal methods include going to id site or steam.
    there are a few quake torrents around.

as far as compatibility to online servers, use proquake. u can get the lastest version here: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-hel...4-91-beta.html
    My Avatars!
    Quake Leagues
    Quake 1.5!!!
    Definitive HD Quake

Comment

Originally posted by thedoomguy View Post

Thanks
      Did you get here from YouTube? just curious !