Fiend Quake?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fiend Quake?

A long time ago, before I started playing/making mods, I saw a thread on a forum somewhere (may have even been here on QuakeOne) for an interesting multiplayer mod named (I think) Fiend Quake.

Supposedly players could choose to play as the standard Ranger or as a Fiend, possibly with some game modes similar to Aliens vs Predator. I never saw anything about this mod again, and I can't find anything on it now. I guess it never got finished.

Anybody else seen or heard of this? Or do I just have a faulty memory? I'm curious as to what happened to it.

If it did exist and has indeed died, this is a mod I'd like to tackle someday. Maybe even code it into RiftQuake. Like a Beast mode or something. It would be way to much work to do this for all monsters, but for the fiend could be an interesting game mode.
    'Replacement Player Models' Project

I recall something similar to that. Hell, I probably wrote about it here, but seem to have forgotten most things.

Anyhow, in this mod, I believe you turned into a fiend when you got a Pent or something? Maybe gibs flew everywhere when you transformed? As I recall, this "powerup" wasn't that great, though it was fun if you didn't care so much about dying.

Comment

I wonder if Snafu's mod from the Quake Expo 2008 (clicky) is what you are after , although I'm not sure if he ever finished it.

You can also become Quake monsters (e.g. Shambler, Vore, Knight, Field) as part of the RuneQuakePlus mod which is rotated on the New York servers. The last I heard from IEEE on the runequake forum was that he was updating this mod to include custom maps, voting and no doubt some other interesting features.

Alternatively you cold always hitch a ride like this guy...(skip to 2:40)

Last edited by Mr.Burns; 03-27-2014, 02:20 AM.
      Mr.Burns
      "Helping to keep this community friendly, helpful, and clean of spammers since 2006"