X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SP: Beyond Belief

Beyond Belief - by Matthias "Langsuyar" Worch
    Download Link: From the author's site

Playing through this episode this morning, for the first time since I started playing Quake again last year, it was hard to believe that this was made in 1997. It really feels like a polished episode, with the sense of atmosphere that many mappers fail to acheive.

The 9-level SP episode for Quake that got me my first job in the gaming industry. Back in its days this got over 10000 downloads in the first two days.
    Can't say I'm surprised.

He was definitely aware of modern ways of playing. There's even one part which has Rocketjump Protection :-)

However, it also has many brutal traps, which might put some people off playing it. But hopefully not...
    16:03:04 <gb> when I put in a sng, I think I might need nails
    16:03:30 <gb> the fact that only playtesting tells me that probably means that my mind is a sieve

I liked the original thread more, had 'mystery' to it, aka "whats his view?"

He has since worked on Unreal2, Wheel of Time and other games... His work in Unreal 2 was awesome.

I liked the secrets in the maps, usually didnt find quite 100%... good monster balance and variance, and the episode supports deathmatch and coop properly as well.

I dont recall any nasty traps except for on The Seal of Secrecy really, which was the 'light puzzle', and that was only nasty because it kept double teleporting me so I would briefly be in safety, then back in the room of death and thus, die. It did this in DP, Fitzquake, and Winquake.

Also in These Deepest Feelings, the secret map, when I picked up the gold key... it just retracted the bridge, I had nowhere else to go. Shy of a rocketjump (which you dont have the weapon for yet) you cant do it. Could try a grenjump but... youre on a grating... thatd be tough...
    Inside3d - Because you can't be Outside 3D!

Comment

Originally posted by scar3crow